Oregon quarterback Marcus Mariota (mar-ee-OH'-tuh) is The Associated Press college football player of the year in a landslide vote reminiscent of his Heisman Trophy win.

Mariota received 49 of the 54 votes submitted by the AP Top 25 media panel. Alabama receiver Amari Cooper drew three votes.

Mariota is the first Oregon player to win AP player of the year, which was first awarded in 1998, and the eighth quarterback to win it in the last nine years.

He led the Ducks to the Pac-12 title and has them in the hunt for their first national championship.

Mariota set a Pac-12 record by accounting for 53 touchdowns, including 38 TD passes. The junior is the highest rated passer in the country (186.33) and has thrown for 3,783 yards and just two interceptions.